|
SORBS is a RBL service that lists servers for various reasons. It is administered by people that don't grasp what they are doing and don't understand how results from portscans are to be interpreted.
I recently got a bounce on a mail I sent:
SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<XXX@YYYYYY.de>:
host AAAAA.BBBBB.de [111.222.333.444]: 554 Service unavailable;
Client host [62.153.201.130] blocked using web.dnsbl.sorbs.net;
Exploitable Server See:
http://www.dnsbl.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/lookup?IP=62.153.201.130
I was informed before that my mailserver is in one of sorbs' lists. If you check the given URL, you will find a rather weird reason for listing my server: it runs FTP servers on non-standard ports. So what? This is plain ridicoulus. Allmost ever Zope installation will have an FTP server on a non-standard port. Or anybody who want's to run logically different FTP servers needs to run them on different ports, as there is no equivalent to the HTTP Host header.
So if you want to receive mails by me, you better don't use sorbs for RBL blocking in your mailserver configuration. I won't jump through hoops for such a bunch of stupid bozos, and I presumeably won't jump through hoops for somebody who uses bozo services for blocking mail ...
Why, oh why, are all RBL services run by either complete morons, sociopaths or technical incompetent wannabes? ":-/"
Oh, and yes, I did contact the admins of sorbs.net. But of course I got no reply back. What did you expect from people as competent as them? And please don't give me this "SORBS doesn't block you, the user of SORBS blocks you" shit. RBL are designed for blocking - that's where there name comes from. If you run a RBL service, you must be aware that users will use your service for blocking. And so you shouldn't list servers for stupid reasons, if you don't like to be called morons or bozos! I am absolutely aware of the fact that the provider that is using SORBS to actively block mail is even more a bunch of morons than the SORBS admins.
|